top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Pool

Passerine Dream's Debut Album is Full of Hope and Beauty in Difficult Times

Updated: Jan 5, 2023

The sound of a songbird is one of the sweetest sounds. Songbirds represent beauty, freedom, and hope. And these three aspects are exhibited across Passerine Dream’s debut album Passerine Dream.


Dave Tanner, the maker of Passerine Dream, tells me that this album has been in the making for a while: “I have discussed doing a “solo” album of sorts for a long time with just about anyone in my musical circle who would listen. During the past year, as I was recording tracks for others, and making demos of my own songs, I decided that the time was right to go all-in with doing an entire album of my own songs. This album is certainly a product of these times but the intent and emotional investment goes back a long time.”


Passerine Dream was released on May 3, and, as the description on Bandcamp states, it is indeed an album of hope. There is just something in the sound of the album that forms a free-falling summer feel. This sort of music fits perfectly as the weather warms up, but it is impossible to ignore the impact of the last year as it is still prevalent.


“I would have been lost without that project,” Tanner says. “It means so much to me and the people I care about.”


Since gigs had been postponed and cancelled last year, musicians’ schedules and entire lives had to adapt. In many cases, this has led to a strong uncertainty that plagues the whole industry. So, it is refreshing to hear an album of hope that was made during those same times.


From the opening track, the hope that was poured into the sound soaks through in a wave that is carried throughout the rest of the album. “Be Together” is a great opener as it sets the tone for the rest. Many of the lyrics seem to pull from the last year, where despair grew in the world and lingers still. But out of this despair came hope:


It took some time to help me realize

The one already stood before my eyes

A lot had happened and a year went by

I was reminded why we had to try

We’ve got to be together while we can

Let’s spend our time together while we can

Life is short, so be amazing while you can

We’ve got to be together

(Lyrics from Passerine Dream “Be Together”)


This opening anthem is power-pop perfection, something that the following tracks “Little Dreams” and “On and On” continue on. It is a great sound that is part nostalgia as I grew up hearing music from the Beatles and music from the 80s alike, and it is part refreshment as it is just fantastic to hear this sort of music since it is a great vessel for feel-good music.


“Driver” may be my favorite off of the album, as it is a slightly different sound; it starts off more acoustic but still power-pop. And the lyrics are just beautiful.


I think that part of what makes this album so great is the honesty present. Tanner tells me that: “I’ve cried so many times making these songs come to life.”


And I think that the album wouldn’t be the same without the authenticity and emotion. That is one of the beautiful things about art; it lets artists pour themselves into their work and connect with others.


One of the songs off the album that just makes me stop because you can hear the emotions in the sound is “Hometown”.


“”Hometown is based on something my dad told me before he got sick and passed away,” Tanner tells me. “”You’ll always know where home is.””


And the song is a lovely tribute. It just wouldn’t be the same and could not exist without the emotion put into it. What you hear is beautiful music with meaning; what you hear is art and emotion alike.


The second half of the album continues the strengths, with “Breaking Through” following a similar line to “Be Together”. And when you have beautiful music full of hope like this, having an entire album like that is just such a lovely listen.


Each track carries an influence that was brought from Tanner’s own life and the friends who helped put this album together:


“These days, my influences come from independent music, post-punk and power-pop. I generally listen to different music than I write. And being around some musician friends who have a wide spectrum of tastes, I can find inspiration in many things. My lyrical content is influenced by my upbringings, my goals, my personal relationships with people, and my love of birdwatching. I really tried to steer clear of doom and gloom. I wanted this album to be about positivity and growth.”


And the final result is just wonderful! I find myself returning to hear this album again and again. It is catchy music, yes, but what stands out even more is the message that comes off the music: you can still make beautiful things in difficult times. Passerine Dream is one of these beautiful things that you can turn to when you need to get your head out of the gloom, when you need to cheer your spirits up. Because the power of music is something nearly indescribable, the best description of the impact of a beautiful, hopeful album like this comes from hearing the music yourself. And when you do hear it, let the hope, beauty, and freedom pour from the music and enter your life. Indeed, beautiful things can still be made in the most difficult of times.



Passerine Dream website: Passerine Dream

101 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page