top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Pool

A Look Back at Rufus Miller's Debut 'Pop Skull'

Updated: Jan 5, 2023

Rufus Miller is a musician whose work I first came across in the form of his album Make It. To me, it was a wonderful album that weaved spirituality with heartbreak against a background of grunge-fueled rock. However, I soon learned that this was not Miller's first album. He has an earlier work titled Pop Skull from 2018. I found it fitting to have it be my last album review of the year, as a nice wrap-around to when I reviewed Make It earlier this year.

 

Pop Skull - Rufus Miller

Design and other arts by Alexandre Goulet

Portrait photo by Robert Wolanski

 

In an interview, Miller told me that the album title comes from an earlier band of his: "The album title was actually named after my band. I was in a band called Popskull in London, but we did it all as one word - Popskull. And the meaning of that is like a sort of cheap alcohol, or like a homemade alcohol like moonshine in the States. But I always thought it was a cool band name. I thought it was nice to call the album that as there are a few references to skulls and cracked heads. And I just thought that it fit. There are also a bunch of Popskull songs on the album, so I thought of it as like a tribute to the band I had been in for so long."


One of the Popskull songs that made it onto the album goes under the name "Wicked Lady". It seems completely foolish to write about this album and NOT mention the opening track "Wicked Lady". Not simply because it is the introduction, but because of the sheer power and drive this song evokes. When I had first hit PLAY, the instant groove of this track launched out and I was hooked. It is just 'that' good of a song. To me, it really seems like it could grow to be one of those classic songs, where when you hear the opening notes, your spirit soars with nostalgia and the sense of emotion that refuses to waver from the first time you had heard the track. Miller has a voice that calls out to the listener and holds one in a trance.


In terms of influence, Miller tells me that:


"The songs of Pop Skull and the songs that I write now are often very love-song-inspired. I don't know why that is, really; I just seem to gravitate towards lyrics with that kind of emotion and heartache, and overcoming stuff. Those are the things that I seem to come back to. Sometimes I can be more playful and funny with it; sometimes more somber or more dark or sad or more uplifting - a variety of things. That's kind of like the main theme I seem to be stuck on. Kind of like how a death metal band sings about death, I sing about love."


This is a theme that is, of course, carried onto his second album Make It, but it shines here in the beginning through a haunting emotion. This is exhibited especially on songs like the fourth track "Killing Our Friends". My initial thoughts about this song were wrapped around intrigue - the title jumped out at me.


"'Killing Our Friends', I don't know how to describe it," Miller said. "That one just has that kind of cold winter, dark and somber. It reminds me of Copenhagen and the winter and that time of my life. And I don't know how to describe it, but it just fits my mood often."


Listening to the track, it is acknowledged that Miller's voice works in a softer setting, too, as the first half of song is tranquil, something that I enjoy looking forward to again and again whenever I listen to the album.


One of my favorite songs off the album is "Trying to Find You". It has a drive similar to "Wicked Lady" in that manner. This song has a feature from Rufus' sister, Misty. It is exhilarating hearing their voices together as the energy builds on this track.


Still, amidst all the energy and grunge amplification, there is a softer side on this album. It is heard in songs like "Don't Wanna Be on My Own" and "Minneapolis". Both of these songs have lyrics that stir the mind and heart; they are tinged with emotion and meaning that almost burns to listen to. But like a lover of pyromania, the flame continues to call and intrigue . . .


As a debut album, I find it difficult to believe that this is only a debut album at times. 'Awesome' is a word that is often casually thrown around to where it has almost lost all meaning; however, I really do feel that this album is awesome. I find myself returning to it again and again for a rock groove that I know I can find when I go looking for it; and for the heart-filled lyrics that cut through but have a sense of comfort at the same time.


I asked Miller what he thought of the album now, as it has been three years since it was released. He told me that:


"I feel really good about it. I think it's aged quite well. I feel like it means more sense now than it did when it came out somehow. It's a bit all over the place stylistically, but there's a feeling that I really like that's in it. It's got some songs that mean a lot to me, too."


On Pop Skull, you can find the waves that evolved, twisting and turning, to form the sounds of Rufus Miller's subsequent album Make It. It will be a wonder to see how it evolves further into 2022 with Miller's plan of an EP. . .


52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page