top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Pool

"God Fell Silent": an Interview with Tim Leland



LP: How did you get into music?


Tim Leland: I've enjoyed music for as long as I can remember. Whether I was playing an instrument or just singing, I just enjoyed doing it!


LP: Who are your influences?


TL: My music taste ranges a lot. I could play country or reggae then play a punk or metal song. I love all music of all genres, so it's really hard to nail down a specific influence but it all inspires me in one way or another!


LP: Tell me about your single “God Fell Silent.” What inspired you to write this song? 


TL: I wrote this song about six years ago. It's very personal and has a very strong message and I was afraid to be that vulnerable for a long time. I finally decided that it was time to tell my story. I wanted to write a song about religion without being hateful towards it or disrespectful. Everyone has the right to their own beliefs; this is just my experience.


LP: What kind of impact do you want to have with this song?


TL: There were two main things I wanted to convey with this song: the first being just telling a good part of my personal story. There's a lot of trauma and bad life experiences that I don't talk about often; the second being to let people that have left the church like me know that they're not alone. Or to make people that may be questioning things think and spark thoughts.


This song is available on all streaming platforms, and I hope anyone that takes the time to listen, enjoys it!


22 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page