top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Pool

Interview with Danny R. Phillips A.K.A. Dr. 47


Photo Credit: Louis Storm



An Interview with Danny R. Phillips A.K.A. Dr. 47

Sk8bar

November 25, 2022



LP: Tell me how you got into journalism.


Danny R. Phillips: How I got into journalism is. . .There was a paper here in St. Jo. It had just started out; it had one issue out, and there was a music review in there. I read it and said, “Well, shit, I can write better than this guy”. And I sent something in, and then I was in every issue for 10 years, something like that. That’s how I got into it.

And then doing national stuff, I would just throw out ideas, throw little articles to people, and they liked it. And here I am.


I don’t know, I kind of fell into it.


LP: Why music specifically, as opposed to writing about something else?


Dr. 47: Because music has always been something in my life that has always been there, and I’ve always been very interested in it. I kind of have a photographic memory for facts about music and stuff, so I keep a lot of information in my head. So writing about music was useful. I just kicked all the shit out I knew and then went to my reference library - I’ve got like 150 books on rock-n-roll.


LP: Are you inspired or influenced by any particular writers?


Dr. 47: Hunter S. Thompson. I tell you what, my favorite writers are Hunter S. Thompson, Jack Kerouac, and Ernest Hemingway. I always liked Ernest Hemingway because he could write beautiful thoughts and use very simple words, very simple language. It’s not flowery; it’s not a bunch of shit you have to figure out. With Hemingway, you know what you’re getting. And it’s still good. And Hunter’s just wild. And I don’t know, Jack Kerouac just makes you want to go do stuff.


And my son’s name is Jack actually. I named him after Jack and Hunter both, so I don’t know what I’m gearing up for. I’m probably asking for trouble.


LP: What’s the coolest experience you’ve had as a journalist?


Dr. 47: The coolest experience I’ve had as a journalist . . .I was backstage in Kansas City when the Descendants played The Uptown. I was pouring coffee and hanging out with them. I was actually on the stage when they were playing.


I told Mike Ness of Social Distortion to fuck himself. I didn’t have time for him.


I asked Evan Dando of the Lemonheads what he said was the greatest question he'd ever been asked in thirty years at the time. I asked him what his favorite mustard was.


LP: And what did he say?


Dr. 47: It was a long pause. . .And then he goes, “That is the greatest question anybody in thirty years has asked me.” And I said, “Well, ‘kay, then answer it.” He goes, “Well, French’s Yellow.” And I say, “Mine too.” Then he gave me tickets to the show that night.


I’ve had a lot of cool experiences. Just showing up backstage and where you’re not supposed to be.


That time I talked my way into the Cure. I was married to my first wife, who wouldn’t let me go see the Cure the last time they were in Kansas City because it was too expensive. And the Cure only comes to Kansas City about every ten to fifteen years.


Then they came back to Starlight. I didn’t have tickets. I couldn’t get press clearance, it didn’t get cleared. So I went down there and told them at the roll-call window that I had press clearance. And when they said they didn’t have it, I threw the biggest fit of my life. I acted like I was supposed to be there, that they were a bunch of fucking assholes, not doing their jobs, blah blah blah. I screamed so much that I only missed one song and got into the concert for free. And then I wrote about it, how I talked my way into it. That was one of my most well-received articles because I got a lot of comments like, ‘I cannot believe you talked your way into the Cure.’


I mean like that goes to what I said earlier: act like you’re supposed to be there, and most of the time you’ll be there.


LP: It’s like that saying: when there’s a will, there’s a way.


Dr. 47: Right. One thing you don’t ever do as a journalist: don’t ask for a picture and don’t ask for an autograph. Those are no-no’s. If they want to do that, I’d do that. But don’t, ‘Hey, man, can I get an autograph?’


The only person I would ask if I interviewed him for an autograph is Dave Grohl. That’s it. I know it’s against the rules, but I’d ask. I will meet him one day, that’s my goal.


LP: How did Sk8bar come to be?


Dr. 47: You know, the owners Jesse and Brandon Rock started it up, and I didn’t know them before Sk8bar. I met the owners because my best friend Mark has been riding skateboards with Brandon since they were 12, and he’s 50. So they’ve known each other forever. And he happened to dip in here, and I asked Brandon, “Hey, you got bands in here?” And Brandon goes, “Well, I don’t know anyone.” And then Mark goes, “Well, hey, I got the guy for it.” So I came in here and made a deal to book shows, and I’ve been here since before there was even a bar in here.


So, that’s how I got into it. I knew a guy that knew a guy. Just like writing about music, I knew a guy that knew a guy, or just happened to get into it. That’s the way my life goes; it’s kind of like Forrest Gump a little bit. Things just happen to me. I just happen into shit.


LP: What would be your advice for someone who wants to be a journalist?


Dr. 47: My advice is don’t go into it to make money because you won’t. You won’t make money. Go into it because you love your subject, especially writing about music. If you love music, you’ve got to know your shit. Because you can’t just say, ‘I don’t like something.’ You’ve got to be able to back it up. So know your subject. If you’re gonna write about it, know it. That’s the advice I have. And don’t be an asshole. You’ll get a lot further talking to people if you’re nice.


106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bard Eclectic (Jason Baskin) at The Black Pony

Jason Baskin/Bard Eclectic is a musician who I first saw at a skater-stoner bar in St. Joseph, Missouri called Sk8bar back in March 2023. It was an open-mic show where anyone could go up and perform a

Dustin Thomas at R Bar

Dustin Thomas has a family history of music that sparked his love for the blues. I saw Thomas’ show in Chillicothe, Missouri back in May when he played at R Bar. His full band show rocked the roof off

bottom of page