top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Pool

PRYMER: Raw, Raunchy, Rock 'n' Roll

Prymer is a raunchy, authentic, fun-times band who I first saw at VIVO in Leavenworth, Kansas back in July.


The band’s Spotify bio describes themselves as: “a hard hitting rock band from the middle of nowhere Missouri; ex: ‘I saw PRYMER last night and they rocked my socks into outer space!’”



Lead singer Josiah Smith started the band in 2019:


“I used to play a lot of parties and private events as a solo acoustic act; the more I did it, the more I wanted a full band,” Smith says. “So I started gathering members and we named the band Josiah Smith & The Poor Boy $pecial. Back then it was a little more country than we did now, and we did a lot more covers.


“Then around 2021, I decided I wanted to change the band name and make it more about the band instead of focusing it on me. So we changed the band name to Prymer and started to take it in the direction it is now. I couldn’t do what I’m doing now if it wasn’t for my brothers Dillon Carey and Dylan Voss.”


Nowadays, Prymer is a three-piece band composed of vocalist and guitarist Josiah Smith, bassist Dylan Voss, and drummer Dillon Carey.


In 2021, Prymer released the singles “Beg Steal or Borrow” and “Shadow in the Dark.” The following year, the band released the single “Small Town Stuck,” a song that first drew me to the band.



“‘Small Town Stuck’ is about certain people telling me I would never be good enough to be successful in this industry,” Smith says. “Like most artists, I received harsh criticisms when starting out. Instead of staying bitter about it, I wrote the song. The message pretty much speaks for itself.”


On March 24, 2024, Prymer released their album Poor Boy $pecial (Live in the Basement). The band describes the album as “a tip of the hat to the old days.” 



Smith says, “It was part of the old band name, and all of the songs on it are older songs from that era of the band that we wanted to preserve. The whole album is us playing live in our friend Kyle Clark’s basement; Kyle is even featured on the 15 minute long song ‘Poor Boy $tew.’”


Prymer describes their typical live show as:


“Our typical show is exactly what we represent: real rock ‘n’ roll. And that’s what we do: no bullshit, no backing tracks; just three guys throwing it down on stage.”

The band states that their influences are a wide range but include rock, pop, and metal.


Prymer’s goals for the rest of the year include playing more live shows and releasing music.


“Our goals next year are obviously to play a lot of shows in new areas and states we haven’t been able to yet, and to release more music. Needless to say, we plan on continuing to work hard and stay busy throughout the year. We have no intention of slowing down in the slightest,” the band says.


“Our new song ‘Shatterpoint’ which we recorded in Nashville will be dropping September 19th.”


So keep your eye out and ears open for Prymer’s next release. And remember, as the band’s Spotify says to #getprymed responsibly.


100 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page