top of page
  • Writer's pictureKim Pool

Misty Miller 'I Don't Wanna Lose You'

Updated: Jan 5, 2023

Misty Miller is an artist whose emotional-musical depth captured my attention from the first song that I heard. Miller’s newest single ‘I Don’t Wanna Lose You’ continues to pour from the heart, which is an aspect you can hear on her previous works “River Songs” and “Fruit”.


It is certainly an aspect that I admire and find myself coming back to dwell upon. I had previously tried to describe this aspect as being like the calling spell of a siren. And you could describe Miller’s music with a similar description - but in plainest words, it is not only the emotions in the artist’s voice but also the lyrics that I find myself returning to:

“I don’t wanna lose you

I don’t want you gone

You don’t wanna lose me

So keep holding on

You say that I am crazy

But I know I’m strong

I almost died two times last year

So there must be something wrong


No one knows how far I’d go to make you stay

But this rope it’s fraying so mend it before it breaks”

(Misty Miller ‘I Don’t Wanna to Lose You’)


There is some sort of connection that happens between a musician and a listener when a song is on: what comes out of one’s soul - and one’s being - is exhibited in all its shades and hues. And it’s the power of art: what one feels, another can feel the same.


There is desperation, hope, and fear all together in company in this song. It’s vulnerable; it’s emotional; it’s intimate; it’s human. All of these emotions and more are exposed in the opening verse. Like how you can peel back the petals of a rose, externally it is beautiful. But internally, beyond the surface on a deeper level, there is this great depth of emotion.


This exhibition of emotion continues for the next verse:


“I wish you could hear me

When I talk to my mum

You wish I could hear you

And trust in what you’ve done

I need you to hold me

When I’m feeling weak

But it’s hard when another woman

Is bring you to your knees


No one knows how far I'd go to make you stay

But this rope it’s fraying so mend it before it breaks”

(Misty Miller ‘I Don’t Wanna to Lose You’)


But something happens at the end of the song. The lingering forbearance that exhibits this beautiful side of honesty, desperation, and heartbreak sidesteps to let the light in. The beauty still remains, but a glimpse and glimmer of hope starts to shine through within the last verse:


“Sew this up

Use those skills that you’ve got

Build a home

One that you don’t have to let go of

Let me in

And we can bathe in each others’ storms

Then dry each other off

And make sure both of us are warm”

(Misty Miller ‘I Don’t Wanna to Lose You’)


The outpouring of the heart is something that is a very beautiful thing. It takes a strong amount of vulnerability to have exposure and honesty, but art and music are perfect vessels for those kinds of emotions. There is pain, heartbreak, desperation, and hope all woven into this beautiful melody. Sometimes, these sort of things are more prevalent in certain artist’s works. In the case of Misty Miller, I believe it would be difficult to find a track of hers that doesn’t have this sort of impact. This emotional sailing vessel was something that first jumped out at me in her music off of "Fruit" and "River Songs", and I am quite happy that the vessel sails on in her newest song. I hope that this emotional vessel is not something that departs from her music, but, as I am familiar with her early works, I am almost certain that emotion will be prevalent and exhibited in Miller’s future music as it would be nearly impossible to imagine the beauty of her music without it.


Hear the song here:

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page